Improving access to railway stations in Hampshire


Hampshire County Council is working with its partners to improve access to a number of railway stations in Hampshire by the use of sustainable forms of transport. Our partners in this work are South West Trains, Network Rail, District Councils and local bus operators.

With the help of funding from the Department for Transport Local Sustainable Transport Fund (LSTF), the County Council is producing a total of nine station travel plans for a number of stations across Hampshire as part of the MyJourney awareness campaign and the Better Connected South Hampshire project.

Each plan contains an action plan, which is reviewed annually by the steering group. The steering group comprises representatives from each partner: the County Council, South West Trains, Network Rail, the relevant District Council and local bus operators.

All Station Travel Plans (STPs) have now been adopted by the County Council: The STP for Farnborough (main station) was adopted on 24 July 2012, Fleet STP was adopted on 6 November 2012, Aldershot, Andover and Basingstoke STPs were all adopted on 2 April 2013, Havant, Fareham and Totton STPs were adopted on 23 July 2013 and Winchester STP was adopted on 9 September 2014.

Further information on MyJourney Hampshire

Further information on Better Connected South Hampshire