Calshot Activities Centre

Write a review about Calshot Activities Centre

Tell us what you think, or if you disagree with other reviews write your own!

Whether you want to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit, or give us some tips on how we can improve it for next time, we want to hear what you think.

Please leave your name and email address. Your email address will not be published. We may contact you prior to publication, so please use a genuine email or your comments may not be published.

Reviews

59 reviews so far

*

30/09/2014 09:33am

Robin Briscoe

Hi I was one of the first children from Hardly County Secondary School to take part on the sailing course in May 1964,as I recall the water was freezing at that time of year not capsizing weather, we used Wayfarer's then with three crew in boat very fond memory's happy days, but more important it taught us to work as a team.

Calshot Replies;

It's great to hear you have fond memories of your time at Calshot.  I'm sure you will be pleased to know we are still introducing many youngsters to adventurous activities and that we have a very stong emphsis on team work, communication and developing self confidence.

 

*

02/09/2014 02:39pm

dj jackson

Hi shout out to all calshot staff my experiences were amazing and I couldnt have asked for better, most thanks go to my group leaders louis and stew for helping me throughout the week, if I hadnt come I would have missed out on all the fun especially the velodrome which, thanks to stew, I've grown a liking to and am hoping to visit many times in the future to practice my velodrome skills and techniques and hopefully take it on as, not only as a hobby but also as a professional biker.

Once again huge round of applause to stew and louis couldnt have done it without you!

Ill be back next year for sure!

Calshot replies;

Thanks for the shout out! Really pleased to hear you had such an amazing week at Calshot and that you plan to be back again in the future. We will pass on your thanks to Stew and Louis.

The velodrome is a fantastic facility and it's great to hear it has inspired you in such a way - we will watch out for your name in the Olympics of the future, maybe you'll follow in the footsteps of another Jackson? Harry, who is Calshot's longest serving track coach and represented Great Britain at the 1964 Olympics in Tokyo

 

*

11/08/2014 01:44pm

Graham Denton

My son (age 29) and I (age 66) have just completed the weekend adult RYA level 2 power boat course. We had a good 'fun weekend' as well as learning a great deal, completely fulfilling our aim for the weekend. Our instructor balanced safety considerations with allowing us to experience the fun of the activity - especially when the wind and waves blew up! I really cannot speak highly enough of the course and instructor, and (of course) of lunch!

It would be nice if Calshot could provide a follow-up for people like us. We enjoy 'messing around in boats' but do not plan to take up serious powerboating. How about the next level of course, or just the use of a boat and instructor to let us use and develop the skills we have learnt? We could then push ourselves to (and beyond) our limits of ability in a safe environment.

Calshot Replies-

We are really pleased to hear you had an enjoyable weekend at Calshot, as well as improving your knowledge and skills along the way. A combination we aim for on all of our courses.

We are able to offer follow-on courses and training on a private lesson/booking basis - I will ask one the team to contact you to discuss what you are looking for.

We will pass on your comments to all concerned with your course, including the catering team who provided lunch.

 

*

23/07/2014 10:22am

chris

Hi does any one check the boats that are being put in the water to see if they have paid

Calshot replies:

Regular checks are made of boats launching, as well as those using the car park facilities, to ensure they are paying to use the facilities. If you believe users are not paying then please report it to a member of Calshot staff.

 

*

11/06/2014 10:56am

megan
megan.haylow@gmail.com

i went to visit with my school on the 2nd of June to 6th June. it felt very welcoming and i had a lot of fun....all friendly faces and grate views and activities there aren't any bad points about it. there are also grate staff!

 

*

08/01/2014 11:48am

John Allen
jpa1949@sky.com

As a regular visitor to Calshot Spit I have noticed that enforcement of non payment for parking is not enforced. Several times I have seen a security person walk past and not even checking for paid parking, usually looking out to sea.

The cruising season is the worst time.

For those of us who pay feel that why should we when lots of others get away with it.

There would be more fund to maintain serices

Calshot replies:

Dear Mr Allen

Thank you for drawing this matter to our attention. We do require our employees to make make regular and frequent checks on all cars using our car park, so it is disappointing if some vehicles are being missed as you suggest.

We are currently looking at various ways of improving security on-site. Please be assured that our staff will be reminded of the need to remain vigilant and treat all visitors equally.

 

*

14/10/2013 11:00am

max powell
maxpowellok@gmail.com

I went to calshot with my class on a residential trip with my class. It was the best holiday ever. The instructors where realy good with ALL kids and they make sure you are super safe. My instructor was (weirdly) called Dobby. I would recommend it to everyone who see.

It will boost your self conferdence and how to work well together.

5 STARS

*****

 

*

29/08/2013 08:31am

Rosie Kilsby

Very good sailing courses for children. Kids parties also excellent.

 

*

24/06/2013 02:50pm

Georgia Day

I got back from 5 days Calshot with my school today and it the best week-off-school EVER! Loved every minute of it! Will def come back some day. Thanx to all the brilliant instructors: Stu (pronounced Shoe), Sam The Woman, Kelly, Timothy, Joe, Euan Johnathon Alexander Griffis and of course Harry with his non-existent group of 9-year-olds. Everything was amazing and was great fun - I especially loved windsurfing, sailing and track cycling.

Thank You Calshot!

Georgia, 13-in-19-days, Harrow Way Community School, Andover.

 

*

11/06/2013 08:51am

Isabel Fincham

We went to calshot for a weekend, and our instructer was Terry. We had a lot of fun while learning new sports at the same time! Terry was very good at introducing us to all the different activities, as many of us had not tried most of them before. It was great, and I left wanting to return.

 

Go to page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 

Review Ref. 454290

 

Write a review

 

Required fields are marked with a *

 
 
 

Important information

  • Give the reasons you liked or didn't enjoy your visit.
  • Even if your review is negative, you should not use strong or non-family-friendly language.
  • We reserve the right to edit or withhold from publication any reviews which we consider inappropriate.
  • Please don't post multiple reviews.
  • Reviews can take up to 5 working days to be posted.
  • If you are under 16, please ask your parent/guardian before you submit a review.
  • You should not post reviews if you are associated with this venue.