Services for Young Children

The Early Communication Support Service

Dedicated to improving communication skills in young children.

The Early Communication Support Service is a team of professionals based in children’s centres across Hampshire. Led by two Speech and Language Therapists, the team of assistants (SaLTAs) support children and families through play-based group activities, information and advice sessions, and some individual home visits. The team also work closely with the early years workforce to offer training and advice.

Learning to talk and communicate with others is a key part of development for all children. It enables them to learn from others and engage in the world around them. The Early Communication Support Service aims to ensure that all children have the best start in achieving their communicative potential.

The Early Communication Support Service will:

  • Offer language enrichment opportunities
  • Support and advise the children’s workforce
  • Promote parental confidence and effectiveness
  • Provide information and resources for language development
  • Enable early identification of speech, language and communication difficulties
 

Accessing support

Parents: Please contact your local Speech and Language Therapy Assistant to find out what groups and workshops are running in your area.  

Practitioners: Please contact your local Speech and Language Therapy Assistant to discuss any support/advice/training needs for your setting. If you would like to request support for a specific child, please use the Request for Support form Microsoft Word 86kB.

 

Find out where your local Speech and Language Therapy Assistant is based

Name

Area

Children's Centre Base

Telephone

Email

Kirsti Campbell

Basingstoke

Honeycomb

07540 930156

kirsti.campbell@hants.gov.uk

Emma Parker

Winchester

Lanterns

07540 930230

emma.parker@hants.gov.uk

Natalie Digweed

Test Valley & New Forest

Water Meadow

07545 415323

natalie.digweed@hants.gov.uk

Lindsey Evans

New Forest

Pathways

07540 930076

lindsey.evans@hants.gov.uk

Lucy Ellis

Rushmoor

Maple Vue

07540 930224

lucy.ellis@hants.gov.uk

Tracy Leason

Havant

Sharps Copse

07595 214676

tracy.leason@hants.gov.uk

Rachel Owen

Gosport

Haven

07540 238149

rachel.owen@hants.gov.uk