Your County, Your Councillors

Committee Membership Details

For further details please contact Democratic and Member Services, tel: 01962 845751 or e-mail:

Hampshire Police Authority

Hampshire Police Authority

Hampshire Police Authority is a separate statutory body to which a joint committee of members from the County Council, the Isle of Wight, Portsmouth and Southampton Councils make appointments based on proportionality across the four councils.

There are 17 Members on Hampshire Police Authority - nine are elected members from the constituent councils and eight are independent members chosen from the public following a selection process.

Hampshire Police Authority is an independent organisation that is responsible for overseeing the work of Hampshire Constabulary to make sure that it operates as efficiently and effectively as possible within available resources. As well as the Authority regularly meeting in full, there are also committees that focus on specific areas of Police work.

More information and meeting dates for Hampshire Police Authority and its committees.