Admission to school

provided by the Children's Services Department

Types of school, ages and status

Hampshire schools admit boys and girls of all abilities.

  • infant: for pupils aged four to seven (some have nurseries for three- to four-year-olds)

  • junior: for pupils aged seven to 11

  • all-through primary: for pupils aged four to 11

  • secondary: for pupils aged 11–16 (some secondary schools have sixth forms 16–18).

  • all through schools for pupils aged four to 16

School year groups



Year group




Nursery year

Foundation Stage


Infant years                   

Reception year                          

Foundation Stage               


Infant years

Years 1 & 2

Key Stage 1


Junior years

Years 3, 4, 5 & 6

Key Stage 2


Secondary years

Years 7, 8 & 9

Key Stage 3


Secondary years

Years 10 & 11

Key Stage 4

School status

Academies - independently managed, all ability schools set up by sponsors from business, faith or voluntary groups in partnership with the Department for Education and the local authority. Admissions are co-ordinated by Hampshire County Council.

Community schools - maintained by Hampshire County Council as the local authority.

Community special schools - for children with special educational needs, maintained by Hampshire County Council.

Federations - this term describes when two or more schools have a formal agreement to share governance arrangements and work together to raise standards.

Foundation schools - maintained by Hampshire County Council but the governors are responsible for admissions. Trust schools are included in this category.

Free Schools - a new type of all ability state funded independent school, free from local authority control.

Trust schools - a local authority maintained foundation school supported by a charitable Trust.

Voluntary schools - originally set up by voluntary bodies, such as the Church of England or Roman Catholic Church, but with most of their running costs now funded by Hampshire County Council. (Voluntary aided schools are responsible for their own admissions. Voluntary controlled schools follow Hampshire County Council’s admission policy.)