Hampshire Now - your County Council magazine

Hampshire's Members of Youth Parliament prepare for House of Commons debate

Monday, 22 July 2013

Hampshire Members of Youth Parliament (MYP's) Zoni Asif, Sam Longmore and Deputy Members Chloe Shield and Georgia Pratt will head to Leeds at the weekend (26th - 28th July) for the 13th annual sitting of the UK Youth Parliament (UKYP) in order to prepare for a debate in the House of Commons later this year.

Zoni, 16, from Aldworth Science College, Sam, 16, from Mountbatten School, Chloe, 14, from Bridgemary School and Georgia, 14, from Yateley School will join 250 other members of the UK Youth Parliament, to debate issues that affect young people such as education, youth unemployment and the minimum wage, as well as take part in workshops and skill sessions.

The Members will also vote to decide which topics should be incorporated in the UKYP Manifesto. Following the event MYPs will vote on what issues from the Manifesto will be put to a national ballot of young people aged 11-18 across the UK to determine the UK Youth Parliament's priority campaign for 2014. The top five topics from this national ballot will then be debated at the House of Commons sitting in November. At the Commons sitting, one topic will be chosen to be UKYP's priority campaign.

The Members of Youth Parliament will be welcomed by the Speaker of the House of Commons RT Hon John Bercow MP, as well as Pam Warhurst CBE, Chair of Incredible Edible Todmorden and Glasgow Girls campaigners Emma Clifford and Roza Salih. The annual event will also feature a keynote speech from Vince Cable MP, Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Sam commented: "I am looking forward to meeting all MYPs from across the UK, hearing from Mr Speaker and taking part in the workshops that will help us be better in our roles."

Hampshire has four elected MYP's and four elected Deputy Members (DMYP's) who sit on the UK Youth Parliament and are elected for a two year term of office in order to represent the views of 11-18 year olds to national and local government. The current MYPs were elected into their two year term of office in March this year.

« News Calendar