Hampshire Now - your County Council magazine

Hampshire honours its young sporting stars

Tuesday, 10 December 2013

Young Hampshire sports stars from schools and colleges across the county have been recognised for outstanding achievement at the Hampshire Schools Sports Federation's 24th annual Michael Austin Harlick awards, organised with support from Hampshire County Council.

At the special ceremony, held at Ashburton Hall in Winchester, Olivia Breen Paralympian Bronze Medallist from London 2012, presented the winners with their trophies for excelling in a variety of sports, from athletics and badminton to taekwondo and trampoline - many are set to be stars of the future. For the first time, the Hampshire School Sports Federation presented the Hampshire London 2012 Legacy Award. This was awarded to Hannah Bryan, from Peter Symonds College in Winchester, who has made a significant contribution to physical education (PE) and sport through volunteering.

The Michael May Trophy for the most outstanding single performance of the year was presented to Kyle Finch, from Wildern School in Hedge End and the President's Trophy for outstanding team performance of the season went to Brockenhurst College 1st XI.

Other winners receiving the Michael Harlick Award were:

Jack Boswell (Cross Country), Frogmore Community College in Yateley
Ethan Craik (BMX Racing), Harrison Primary School in Fareham
Caelan Dillon (Hockey), Peter Symonds College in Winchester
Jack Durham (Trampoline), Richard Taunton Sixth Form College in Southampton
Milo Gill-Taylor (Sailing), The Ringwood Waldorf School in Ringwood
Ross Green (Badminton), Perins School in Alresford
Lydia Hume (Squash, Rackets), Itchen Sixth Form College in Southampton
Oliver Jermy (Swimming), Horndean Technology College
Ella Jones (Disability Sports - Swimming), Treloar College in Holybourne
Amy Layzell (Gymnastics), Kings' School in Winchester
Joe Marchant (Rugby Football), Peter Symonds College in Winchester
Jeamy Navarro-Schrank (Taekwondo), St Anne's Catholic School in Southampton
Leslie Parkes (Track and Field), Cowplain Community School
Zoe Sanders (Football), Itchen Sixth Form College in Southampton
Bradley Sutton (Modern Pentathlon), Brighton Hill Community College in Basingstoke
Bradley Taylor (Cricket), Eggar's School in Holybourne
Elsa Wakeman (Netball), King Edward VI School in Southampton

Commenting on the awards Councillor Peter Edgar, Hampshire County Council's Executive Member for Children's Services, said: "It is exciting to see the wealth of young sports talent here in Hampshire being nurtured in our schools and colleges and being honoured with these awards. It is a testament to the hard work and dedication of the young people and their coaches and supporters that so many of them will be aiming to try and compete for their country at the highest level.

"It is wonderful to see so many young people involved in such a range of sports and I congratulate all of the winners on their achievements. The County Council is determined to develop sporting opportunities for all young people in its schools."

The Michael Austin Harlick awards recognise consistent and outstanding achievement in school sports activities throughout the academic year. Nominations are received from county schools' sports associations affiliated to the Hampshire Schools' Sports Federation.

« News Calendar