By a charter of 909 King Edward the Elder confirmed Frithstan, Bishop of Winchester in possession of Bradley, then part of the manor of Overton. By 1167 it was a separate manor and passed through many families and was inherited by Sir Bernard Brocas in 1395. Although Sir Bernard was executed at tyburn for treason at the accession of Henry IV the land was not forfeited and remained in the Brocas family until 1621, when it was leased to Thomas Taylor for 200 years. In 1629 the manor was taken into the hands of the king for a debt of £1,001 and leased by him to Sir Kenelm Digby and Sir John Savage. Thomas Taylor refused to deliver the manor and garrisoned the manor house. After four unsuccessful attempts by the sheriff to gain possession, 200 men and guns were sent from London and the house was destroyed. However, two years later the manor reverted to Thomas Talyor when the Court of Exchequer dissolved its injunction. The later history of the manor becomes uncertain and passed through many hands.
The first mention of a church at Bradley is in 1291, and parts of the church date from the thirteenth century. The present church of All Saints was rebuilt in 1877 and dates mostly from the last century.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Bradly please take a look at the Alresford local pages.