Hampshire's local pages

Candovers

The two villages of Brown Candover and Chilton Candover give their names to this parish. Both are shrunken villages which flourished in the Middle Ages, and evidence of deserted buildings can be seen in earthworks and traces of old foundations. The ancient Lunway crosses the parish and was used as an ox drove.

In 1086 the manor of Chilton Candover was held of the Bishop of Winchester by Richard de Audely, ancestor of the Daundely family who held the manor until 1372. The manor then passed to members of the Bayntun family who had an erratic history of relations with royalty. Robert Bayntun was taken prisoner at the Battle of Tewkesbury, and Sir Edward Bayntun was Vice Chamberlain to three Queens of Henry VIII. The manor was sold in 1562 to John Fyssher, and this owner is credited with pulling down the houses at Chilton Candover and removing the inhabitants. This actual record of the systematic destruction of a village community is unique in Hampshire's history, but Chilton Candover was later repopulated to some extent.

The manor of Chilton Candover later changed hands frequently, and in 1662 it belonged to Sir Henry Worsley. When his grandson died in 1747 the manor passed to his grandson Robert, Lord Carteret, afterwards Lord Granville. In 1818 the manor was bought by Alexander Baring, Lord Ashburton, and remained with this family.

The manor of Brown Candover belonged to the Crown until the tenth century when it was granted to Hyde Abbey. It remained in the hands of the Abbey until the Dissolution when it was granted to Sir William Paulet, Lord St. John. In 1571 the property was sold to Roger Corham but later returned to the Paulets in the seventeenth century. By the beginning of the eighteenth century the manor had passed to the Worsleys of Appuldurcombe and Chilton Candover, and followed the same descent as Chilton Candover.

In 1925 an underground structure was discovered at Chilton Candover and dated to the Norman period. It proved to be the crypt of a church, and contained the fourteenth century tomb of John of Candover. Nowadays an open-air evening service is held at the crypt every July.

Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available.  For information on public services for the Candovers please take a look at the Alresford local pages.