The Parish of Sparsholt in Buddlesgate Hundred was part of the Manor of Chilcomb which was granted to the church at Winchester by King Edward the Elder in 908. A charter selling part of the land at Sparsholt into private hands was signed by Stigand, Bishop of Winchester, between 1050 and 1060. The charter was witnessed by monks from the Old Minster and also Alfwin, Abbot of New Minster and his monks. Sparsholt was not mentioned by name in the Domesday Book, but was included in the Manor of Chilcomb, later the Manor of Barton and Buddlesgate.
Sparsholt, like many other parishes, comprised one or more manors within the boundary. In the thirteenth century a dispute arose between two families and the land was split into different holdings. The de Caritate family held lands known as the Manor of Lainston, and the other family took the name of Sparsholt and held the manors of Westley and Fromond's Court.
The de Winton family held the Manor of Lainston in 1342, but Richard de Winton was in debt in 1383 and was imprisoned and died shortly after. The manor passed to the Skilling family and remained in their possession until 1613 when it was sold to the Dawley family. Anthony Dawley was High Sheriff of Hampshire in 1707, and sold the manor to Sir Philip Meadows in 1711.
The Sparsholt family granted a parcel of land to Stephen Fromond in 1258 and this part of the Manor of Sparsholt was known as Fromond's Court. The land eventually passed to the Skilling family who combined it with their Manor of Lainston. The Manor of Westley was granted to the Coldrey family in the thirteenth or fourteenth century, and ultimately passed to the Skilling family of Lainston.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Sparsholt please take a look at the Winchester local pages.