In Preston Candover at the time of the Domesday Survey there were six separate estates. Names appearing in the records are Candover Scotland, Stevenbury or Horwoods, Botillers Candover, Purefoys and Moundsmere. The latter is interesting in that it was held by the Priory of Southwick until the Dissolution. It then formed part of the dower of Anne of Cleves and Catherine Howard and, on the death of Catherine, Henry VIII granted the Manor of Moundsmere to the college of St. Mary, Winchester. It was used in 1544 as a sick house for Winchester scholars who were stricken down by plague. This was repeated during a further outbreak in 1554. In 1909 the college sold the property.
A manor by the name of Preston Candover first appears in the reign of Edward III and was held by the Hoyvilles. In 1368 John de Hoyville granted the manor to William de Wykeham, Bishop of Winchester. In the reign of Richard II the bishop granted it to Thomas Warenner; it descended to the Sandys family and remained theirs until the late sixteenth century or early seven tenth century. In 1636 it was sold to George Long, who lived in London during the Civil War and assisted the Parliament with money. While in London his house and land in Preston Candover was laid waste.
Over the following centuries the manor changed hands regularly, although one notable owner was William Guidott who built Preston Candover House.
Preston Candover falls within the parish of Preston Candover and Nutley.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Preston Candover please take a look at the Basingstoke local pages.