The Parish of Whitsbury was part of Wiltshire until 1895, and is still under a Wiltshire parliamentary constituency. The name was "Wicheberia" in the twelfth century, which became "Wychbury" before the spelling was finally settled. There are several tumuli on Whitsbury Down and a large earthwork, known variously as Castle Ditches and Whitsbury Camp, overlooks the village. The Church of St. Leonard, built in the Fourteenth Century, was altered and restored in the late Nineteenth Century. Of flint and brick, with a brick Western tower.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Whitsbury please take a look at the Fordingbridge local pages.