From an early date Laverstoke formed part of the possessions of Hyde Abbey. It remained in the possession of Hyde Abbey until its dissolution. From then on it was constantly changing hands until in 1759 it was sold to Joseph Portal and has remained in the family. At the time of the Domesday Survey Laverstoke had two mills and it was here that Henri Portal, son of a refugee Huguenot family, established a paper-making centre. In 1727 he secured the contract for the manufacture of Bank of England notes, since the water of the Test is suited to making crisp paper. Laverstoke House, rebuilt in 1798 for the Portals by Bonomi, stands in a park of 275 acres which slopes down to the right bank of the river.
The ruined church of St. Mary in Laverstoke Park is probably of Saxon origin, and was once used as a mortuary chapel by the Portal family. A drinking fountain north of Manor Farm was given by Portals Ltd. for the people of Laverstoke and freefolk.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Laverstoke please take a look at the Whitchurch local pages.