Sway is on Avon Water and the name was "Svieia" in the Domesday Book - a noisy stream. Stone Age implements have been found here and Bronze Age barrows containing funerary urns. The landmark here is the Peterson's Tower - built in 1879-83 by A.T. Peterson, a retired judge of the Indian High Court, to prove that concrete could be used for building purposes. In this village was Arnewood House (now destroyed by fire) which was the home of the "Children of the New Forest" in Captain Marryat's book.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Sway please take a look at the Lymington local pages.