Known as "Adelingham" in the eleventh century, Ellingham is just to the North of Ringwood. The tomb of Dame Alice Lisle can be found in the Thirteenth Century church. It is thought that there was an earlier, probably Saxon, church on the site. Dame Alice Lisle lived in the Elizabethan house of Moyles Court, also in the Parish, and was one of the victims of the infamous Judge Jeffreys. Charged with harbouring fugitives from the battle of Sedgemoor, and convicted on very flimsy evidence, she was executed in 1685.
Moyles Court is now used as a school, and the Eighteenth Century building which has become "The Alice Lisle Inn" was formerly the village school for Rockford.
The villages of Harbridge and Harbridge Green are situated West of the river, and to the South lies Somerly Park, home of the Earls of Normanton. The mansion was built in 1792-5, to the designs of Samuel Wyatt, and was extensively remodelled in 1868, the picture gallery contains several paintings by Joshua Reynolds. The village of Ibsley lies to the East of the Avon on the main road between Ringwood and Fordingbridge, and has some picturesque thatched cottages. The church dates from 1832 and contains an interesting memorial to Sir John Constable with his wife and five children.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Ellingham, Harbridge and Ibsley please take a look at the Ringwood local pages.