back search


Road Safety

Road Safety in the Community

Detailed below are some of the initiatives that work to improve road safety in our communities.

Road Safety Councils are excellent methods for improving communication between the council staff working in Road Safety, with the key stakeholders on a local level and the community at large in order to improve the effectiveness of casualty reduction for the Hampshire community.


Hampshire County council has three Road Safety Councils operating across the county with the following functions:

  1. To promote and encourage road safety education, training and publicity in the area in accordance with the casualty reduction policies of the County Council.

  2. To encourage the activities of local groups and organisations in road safety matters, seek the involvement of the local community in support of the road safety programmes.

  3. To support initiatives and promotion of local campaigns designed to improve public awareness of road safety.

The areas covered, their County Council representatives and the Chair and Vice Chairs of the areas are shown below:


Hart - Cllr. Sharyn Wheale (Chairman)

Rushmoor - Cllr Roz Chadd

Basingstoke and Deane -Cllr Anna McNair-Scott


Test Valley - Cllr. Pat West (Chairman)

Eastleigh - Cllr Colin Davidovitz

New Forest - Cllr Steve Rippon-Swaine

Winchester - Cllr Roger Huxstep


East Hampshire - Cllr C R Carter (Chairman)

Fareham - Cllr George Ringrow

Havant - Cllr Ray Finch

East Hampshire - Cllr John West


Minutes of the Road Safety Council meetings are available below:

Central Area

Central Area - 14 February 2013 Microsoft Word 4MB

Central area - 09 February 2012

Central Area 21 June 2012

Central Area - 18 October 2012

South Area

South Area - 26 February 2013 Microsoft Word 4MB

South area - 14 February 2012

South Area - 30 October 2012 Microsoft Word 726kB

North Area

North Area - 8 February 2013 Microsoft Word 696kB

North area  3 February 2012

North Area - 12 October 2012

Chairman's Meeting

Chairman's Meeting - 15 January 2013 Microsoft Word 87kB

Chairman's meeting 24 September 2012 Microsoft Word 83kB

Chairman's meeting - 10 May 2012 Microsoft Word 91kB

Chairman's meeting - 19 January 2012

Community Speedwatch Leaflet

Community SpeedWatch is an initiative co-ordinated by Hampshire Constabulary.

Speeding is one of the factors that most affects the quality of life in communities around Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, It can be a factor in road traffic collisions and impacts on the day to day lives of people in the community.

The scheme itself is coordinated by Hampshire Constabulary, but operated by your local police safer neighbourhood teams and community volunteers.

To find out more about the Community SpeedWatch scheme, please either open the leaflet below, or contact the safer roads officers at:



In this section…