The Tasker collection
Arthur Fuller became managing director of Taskers in 1932 and was the first to realise that Taskers had a unique history which should be preserved. In 1948 he and the company began to retrieve from all over the country engines and other things they had made in the past. In its final form, in a hall beneath 1960's company offices, the factory museum held 108 exhibits, including 23 engines and an RAF Spitfire on a Queen Mary Trailer.
Then, in 1968, Taskers was taken over by another company, and the collection had to be sold. A charitable trust was hurriedly formed to raise money to buy as much of it as possible. Hampshire County Council Museums Service was also alerted, so that when the sale took place in February 1969 nearly three-quarters of the collection was bought up and entered public ownership. The Tasker Museum Trust was wound up shortly afterwards, but the items they had saved then joined those bought by Hampshire County Council Museums Service.
The collection has been added to over the years, resulting in one of the most comprehensive single company collections in the public domain. It currently consists of the following examples of Taskers output
- cast iron window frames, marker posts, milestone plaques, horticultural frames, animal feeding troughs and garden furniture
- Tools and equipment used in the Anna Valley works including hand tools, patterns, moulding boxes and moulding tools
- Production records and photographs of Tasker items (approx 1,000 items)
- General layout and parts drawings of Tasker products (approx 2,500 items)
- Printed sales brochures and catalogues relating to Tasker's output, c1850-1930
- Horse-drawn and powered agricultural machinery, including ploughs, mills, saw benches, carts and wagons
- Steam-powered agricultural and road traction engines, from early portable engines to late steam-rollers, c1875-1925
- Steam engines for general industrial use
- Models of Tasker products, including cast iron bridges, agricultural engines and lorry trailer coupling.