The boundaries of the present Parish of East Meon date back to 1894 when the Parish lost a number of its tithings to neighbouring Parishes.
Until the Norman Conquest no distinction was made between East and West Meon. The first recorded mention of East Meon occurs in the mid-eleventh Century, when the manor was granted to the monks at Winchester. It remained almost continuously with the bishops of Winchester until, as a result of the Root and Branch Bill, it was sold in 1648-9. However, at the restoration of the monarchy the bishops of Winchester once again found themselves lords of the manor.
The Church of All Saints is the oldest building in the Parish and dates from about 1150. A stone marked "Amens Plenty" is thought to cover the grave of roundhead soldiers killed in a fight before the Battle of Cheriton (1644) during the Civil War. Also of note is the black Tournai marble font of circa 1130-40, which is one of four such fonts in Hampshire.
The Bishops of Winchester held their memorial courts in the mediaeval Court House which is the second oldest building in East Meon. At the beginning of the twentieth century it was used to house farm workers and the Great Hall was a cow byre, but in 1927 the building was restored and is occasionally used for theatrical performances.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for East Meon please take a look at the Petersfield local pages.