Beaulieu was called "Bellus Locus Regis" (The beautiful place of the King) when King John gave the grounds of his hunting lodge to the Cistercian monks in 1204.
There are both Stone Age and Bronze Age traces in the Parish, but the Abbey and its associated buildings are of the greatest interest; this interest is not just confined to the Abbey building complex (as it would now be called) but includes the remains of the chapels at Park Farm and St. Leonards. There are traces of mediaeval granges at Otterwood, Bouvery, and possibly at Sowley.
In the Parish is the Hamlet at Bucklers Hard where the wooden walled battleships were built by the master builder, Henry Adams.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Beaulieu please take a look at the Lymington local pages.