The Parish of Wickham in Titchfield Hundred was divided into two manors in the time of Edward the Confessor, but in the Domesday Book the land is listed as being held by Hugh de Port. The overlordship followed the rest of the De Port barony in descent, passing in succession to the St. John, Philbert and Paulet families. The manor was still held by William Paulet, Marquis of Winchester, in 1616, but after this date the rights of the overlord appear to have lapsed and the manor passed through many families, notably the Corbetts and the Garniers. In the Middle Ages the manor was held under the de Ports by the families of de Scures and later the Uvedales, all families who often held the post of High Sheriff of Hampshire.
Wickham is chiefly known as the birth place of William Long, always known as William of Wykeham, the founder of Winchester College and New College, Oxford, who was born in 1324 and became Bishop of Winchester in 1367.
The large square at Wickham possibly dates from the thirteenth century when Henry III granted Roger de Scures, Lord of the manor, a market and fair. The settlement must have then acquired some form of urban status as by the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries it was referred to as a Borough.
Chesapeake Mill, one of the many interesting buildings in Wickham, is so called because its structure incorporates timber from the American ship "Chesapeake" which was captured by the British ship H.M.S Shannon in June 1813. Wickham used to boast a famous iron-foundry which produced high quality tools, but the industry has now died out. The Meon Valley Railway came to Wickham in 1903 and enhanced communications considerably, but the line has since closed down.
Further information on attractions to discover in the area and other interesting villages to visit is available. For information on public services for Wickham please take a look at the Fareham local pages.