Hampshire Archives and Local Studies

Write a review about Hampshire Archives and Local Studies

Please leave your name and email address. Your email address will not be published.

We may contact you prior to publication, so please use a genuine email or your comments may not be published.

Reviews

23 reviews so far

*

03/03/2012 07:10am

Cathy Cowing

I live in New Jersey, USA. I sent a query into the Archives and am thrilled with the service that I received. My query was received and processed, and the document on its way to me quickly. I got it in today's mail less than 3 weeks after mailing. Sad to say here in NJ I would have paid three times as much and waited 3 months or more. An excellent and professional job. Thank you so much!!

 

*

12/02/2012 05:43am

Valerie Boddy

I am very pleased and surprised that you are reverting back to your old opening hours of 7pm during the week instead of 5pm. When researchers have to spend 2 or 3 hours travelling to the office those extra hours make all the difference. Thank you.

HRO replies

From 1 April 2012 we propose to close at 7pm on Thursday evenings and at 5pm on other weekdays.

 

*

17/01/2012 04:47pm

Tony Stephens

I believe that the services offered by the County Records Office are almost second to non - but they are badly let down by the poor computer access to national records - the most frustrating is access to Ancestry and Find My Past - the computer application is slow and in some cases just unresponsive and family and other researches are badly let down by the slow and unpredictability of this part of the service - please make these systems much more responsive for the future - its not megabucks we're taking about here.

Hampshire Record Office replies

We are sorry about the frustration you have been experiencing. We are aware of the difficulties with public internet access and are currently taking steps to overcome these. Although we do not yet have a timescale for resolution of these problems, please be assured that we are actively pursuing a solution with our IT providers.

 

*

22/08/2011 04:54pm

Michele Cantwell

After searching online for wills and documents, I had cause to contact the archives and local studies section regarding a query regarding some of the documents. I found that the staff were quick to answer, explained in a way I understood and they were very poilite. When I ordered, my documents, they were very clearly copied and I was very please with the speed of the service. I will definitely be ordering more items! Thank you :)

 

*

14/08/2011 06:05pm

graham davies

Would like to thank your archivists for their generous help both in person and by email for my researches into the Cobb(e) family of Swarraton and the Nortons of East Tisted.

I'm also impressed with your website which I've just started to use. All much appreciated. Visits are limited due to our home being in Lancashire.

 

*

15/03/2011 05:02pm

Craig Morris

I brought my son Daniel Morris to the 'History Show' hosted by Robert Blackwood on Saturday 12th March and wanted to pass on our thanks and gratitude to your offices and to Mr. Blackwood for putting on a superb show. Daniel & I thoroughly enjoyed it and we would have no hesitation in returning to a similar event and recommending it to classmates and families at Samuel Cody School in Farnborough.

 

*

09/02/2011 06:02pm

Pamela Ritchie

I would like to thank you for allowing us to visit you today. We are currently in the minibus on the way home and all the students can talk about is what they have just experienced at the Records Office.

Thank you for your kindness and organising a tour for us to see the wonderful things you do. I also want to thank you for taking the time to gather the items relating to Knowle Hospital for us to look through. We were so interested we didn't want to leave!

 

*

07/12/2010 08:25am

Jayne

I have visited this office many times over the last three years and find it one of the best I have used in terms of facilities for research.

The working area is light and airy and the temperature controlled air vents mean it does not get hot and stuffy as some other offices do. There are plenty of computers available and the catalogue is very easy to use. Since ordering of documents has been done via computer terminals, their retrieval and delivery to the reading room seems much faster.

On the whole, staff are friendly and helpful, although some of the ladies in the reading/research room give the impression that researchers are a nuisance when they need to ask for help more than once.

One or two of them are I am afraid to say, completely rude and "snooty" and tend to look down on people with less knowledge than their own! I have seldom seem them smile or behave in a friendly manner and it is such a downside to a lovely working environment.

However, my main complaint is the level of noise from other researchers. At times the room resembles a crowded bar, with people talking really loudly and the staff do nothing to get them to quieten down.

A few notices around the place advising people to consider others and keep the noise down would be helpful - as would some on the microfilm drawers asking people NOT to slam them shut! Overall, it's a great place to spend time researching and well worth visiting!

Hampshire Record Office replies

We are sorry to note that the points you raised about staff and noise appear to have marred your visits to our research facilities. It is very important to us that our customers have a good experience of their visits so we will look at the issues you have raised here and consider how best we can address them.

 

*

18/10/2010 09:56am

Dr Kevin Linch

Very friendly and helpful staff. An exceptionally detailed catalogue, which is a great bonus for quick visits and means I could get a lot done in a short time.

All in all, one of the best archives I have worked in.

 

*

20/09/2010 01:10pm

Jo Craig

Whenever I visit I find the staff to be incredibly helpful and informative. I was particularly impressed by the impromptu latin translation of one document that a member of staff did for me on my last visit.

 

Go to page: 1 2 3 

Review Ref. 385457

 

Write a review

 

Required fields are marked with a *

 
 
 

Important information

  • Give the reasons you liked or didn't like our services.
  • Even if your review is negative, you should not use strong or non-family-friendly language.
  • We reserve the right to edit or withhold from publication any reviews which we consider inappropriate.
  • Please don't post multiple reviews.
  • Reviews can take up to 48 hours to be posted.
  • If you are under 16, please ask your parent/guardian before you submit a review.
  • You should not post reviews if you are associated with this venue.