You are hereHantsweb HomeEventsSports Awards

Sports Awards

Hampshire and Isle of Wight Sports Awards

The Hampshire & IOW Sports Awards 2015 will take place on Wednesday 25 March at St Mary's Stadium, Southampton.

The 2015 shortlist of nominees has been revealed, the winners will be announced at the awards ceremony.

The Hampshire and Isle of Wight Sports Awards is a joint venture between Hampshire County Council, Sport Hampshire & IOW and the local sports councils & forums in Hampshire. It has a reputation for being the only county-wide event to recognise commitment, performance and excellence across all sports.

Sport helps provide the bedrock of strong communities. It inspires dedication and determination, creates passion and pride, instils discipline and fair play, provides opportunity for fun and friendship, builds character and courage and engenders camaraderie and team spirit amongst competitors and spectators alike. The Awards harnesses all of these positive messages and celebrates everything that is good about sport.

Awards are made to elite performers as well as to stalwarts of the local sporting community – the coaches, officials and volunteers who work behind the scenes to help athletes and clubs succeed. Nominees are assessed by a judging panel and winners are required to meet criteria specific for each category.

The shortlisted candidates are:

Junior Sportsman

Andrew Douglas, Athletics, Eastleigh

Bradley Sutton, Modern Pentathlon, Basingstoke

Edward van Meerkerk, Karate, Basingstoke

Junior Sportswoman

Katie George, Cricket & Football, Test Valley

Ebonie Jones, Boxing, Portsmouth

Megan Kealy, Gymnastics, Basingstoke

Junior Disability Sportsperson - sponsored by Toucan Design

Warren Clark, Golf, Test Valley

Arthur Morley, Swimming, Fareham

Ian Payne, Wheelchair Tennis, New Forest

Senior Sportsman

James Foad, Rowing, Southampton

Edgar Hornby, Epee Fencing, Basingstoke

Joe Marchant, Rugby, Winchester

Senior Sportswoman

Emily Hewitt, Canoeing, Eastleigh

Samantha Rees-Clark, Kayaking, Hart

Kelly Simm, Artistic Gymnastics, Eastleigh

Senior Disability Sportsperson

John Brooker, Sailing, East Hampshire

Alex Hammond, Cricket, East Hampshire

Shane Pletts, Squash, Eastleigh

Masters Sportsperson

Marina Cornwall, Powerlifting, Eastleigh

Brian Tubb, Hockey, Eastleigh

Outstanding Personal Achievement - sponsored by InPrint

Bill Budd, Cycling, East Hampshire

Gavin Downey, Judo & Karate, Basingstoke

Isaac Fitzgerald, Football, Southampton

Scott Gilmour, Cycling, Test Valley

Junior Team

OT's & Romsey Under 15’s, Cricket, Test Valley

Shin Gi Tai Martial Arts Academy, Basingstoke

Sparsholt College U18's, Football, Winchester

Senior Team - sponsored by Halo Conferences

Aldershot Farnham & District Athletics Club Ladies Cross Country & Road Running, Rushmoor

Basingstoke Senior Mixed TeamGym, Basingstoke

Basingstoke Bison Men’s EPL, Ice Hockey, Basingstoke

Participation Coach - sponsored by Coaching Hampshire & IOW

Adam Dominey, Squash, Isle of Wight

Richard Osborne, Sitting Volleyball, Portsmouth

Rory Simpson, Handball, East Hampshire

Performance Coach - sponsored by Coaching Hampshire & IOW

Graham Hurrell, Badminton, Winchester

Graham Pople, Swimming, Portsmouth

Keith Richardson, Gymnastics, Eastleigh


Ross Murphy, Football, Eastleigh

Gerry Reilly, Taekwondo, Basingstoke

Steve Snodden, Athletics, Basingstoke

Club - sponsored by Serious Sport

Swallows Trampoline Club, East Hampshire

Trojans Hockey Club, Eastleigh

London 2012 Legacy Award - sponsored by Hampshire Olympic & Paralympic Legacy

Hordle CE Primary School, New Forest

Norwood Primary School, Eastleigh

St. Martin’s CE Primary School, Basingstoke

Junior Volunteer - sponsored by Calshot Activities Centre

Sophie Collins, Equestrian, Eastleigh

Chloe Foster, Trampolining, East Hampshire

Jessica Muller, Karate, Basingstoke

Senior Volunteer - sponsored by Hillcrest

Su Killeen, Gymnastics, Gosport

Andy Moore, Rugby League, Eastleigh

Steve Willoughby, Skateboarding & Cycling, Winchester

Service to Sport - sponsored by Hampshire County Council's Executive Member for Culture, Recreation and Countryside

Ian Byett, Athletics, Basingstoke

John Carter, Football, Havant

Len Dunce, Judo, Basingstoke

Colin Greetham, Cricket, Bowls & Football, East Hampshire

SHIOW Award Winners


Heather Windust
Sports Development Officer
01962 846172

Sharon Robertson
Sports Development Manager
01962 845021

Join our mailing list
Partner login

Facebook logo

Twitter logo