School Library Service

Hampshire Book Award

This is an annual award for the best paperback fiction title published in the previous year for the 11-14 age group.

The judges of the award are Year 8 students from participating schools (secondary schools subscribing to the School Library Service). The students are involved in every stage of the award, from selection of both the long and short lists to the final vote for the winning author.

The shortlist of six titles is announced in March, and the winner in June, when hundreds of participating pupils submit their votes at the end of the regional discussion day.

The winning author is then invited to a presentation at Winchester Guildhall in the Autumn.

  • to promote the enjoyment of reading

  • to foster a reading ethos within the school

  • to draw attention to the most rewarding and accessible fiction for the age group

  • to challenge students to critically assess books and to make a reasoned argument in group discussions.


Shortlisted titles 2016

  • Winterkill by Kate A Boorman
  • Looking at the Stars by Jo Cotterill - WINNER
  • Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan
  • Devil You Know by Cathy MacPhail
  • The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel
  • Smart by Kim Slater

2016 - Looking at the Stars by Jo Cotterill
2015 - The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud
2014 - Hostage by Chris Bradford
2013 - My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher
2012 - Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel
2011 - Time Riders by Alex Scarrow
2010 - Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
2009 - Dogfight by Craig Simpson
2008 - Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
2007 - Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
2006 - Spook's Apprentice by Joseph Delaney
2005 - Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo
2004 - A Little Piece of Ground by Elizabeth Laird
2003 - Skeleton Key by Anthony Horowitz


HBA 2016 Poster

The final voting day for the Hampshire Book Award takes place at several locations simultaneously at the end of June.