Hampshire Illustrated Book Award  

AboutShortlistPrevious winners

About the Hampshire Illustrated Book Award

The Hampshire Illustrated Book Award is an annual award for picture books for older readers. All primary schools subscribing to the School Library Service can apply to take part. The judges are Year 5 pupils in participating schools.

The shortlist of 6 books is announced to co-ordinators in the summer term and judging takes place in the autumn. The books are are chosen for their potential both to stimulate discussion and to introduce children to new and exciting ways of working in Art and Music lessons. Visual literacy notes are provided for schools taking part in the award to help them exploit the titles to the full. Notes from previous years are available for download in the subscriber area of the SLS Moodle.

Aims of the award

  • To promote the enjoyment of reading
  • To develop children's visual literacy skills
  • To develop pupils' critical ability, using listening and speaking skills
  • To draw attention to the genre of picture books for older readers
  • To promote pupil use of the public library

2017 Shortlist

  • Finding Winnie by Lindsay Mattick Illustrated by Sophie Blackall
  • Where the Bugaboo lives by Sean Taylor Illustrated by Neal Layton - WINNER
  • Imaginary Fred by Eoin Colfer Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
  • Ossiri and the Bala Mengro by Richard O'Neil and Katherine Quarmby Illustrated by Hannah Tolson
  • Pet Dragon by M.P Robertson and Sally Symes
  • Lucinda Belinda Melinda McCool by Jeanne Willis Illustrated by Tony Ross

Previous winners

  • 2017 - Where the Bugaboo lives by Sean Taylor Illustrated by Neal Layton
  • 2016 - The Cat, the Dog, Little Red, the Exploding Eggs, the Wolf and Grandma’s Wardrobe by Diane and Christyan Fox
  • 2015 - Winter's Child by Angela McAllister and Grahame Baker-Smith
  • 2014 - The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers
  • 2013 - The Pirates Next Door by Jonny Duddle
  • 2012 - Marshall Armstrong is New to our School by David Mackintosh
  • 2011 - The Santa Trap by Jonathan Emmett and Poly Bernatene
  • 2010 - Tortoise vs Hare: the rematch by Preston Rutt and Ben Redlich
  • 2009 - Don't read this book! by Jill Lewis and Deborah Allwright
  • 2008 - Scoop! An exclusive by Monty Molenski by John Kelly and Cathy Tincknell
  • 2007 - Castles by Colin Thompson
  • 2006 - The Whisperer by Nick Butterworth