School Library Service

Hampshire Picture Book Award


The Hampshire Picture Book Award is an annual award. The aim of the award is to introduce new picture books to Year 1 pupils, extending their experience and developing a love of books. It provides the pupils with a unique opportunity to be involved in a major county literary event, whilst giving them a real chance to enthuse about reading for pleasure.

All primary schools subscribing to the School Library Service can apply to take part. The judges are Year 1 pupils in participating schools.

The shortlist is announced to co-ordinators at the end of the autumn term. Participating Year 1 pupils have the spring term to read and evalutate the books and then vote for their favourite. Participating schools are provided with suggestions for activities to link the award into the wider curriculum. Notes from previous years are available for download in the subscriber area of the SLS Moodle.

The aims of the award are:

  • To promote the enjoyment of reading
  • To develop children’s visual literacy skills
  • To develop pupils’ creativity
  • To develop pupils’ critical ability, using listening and speaking skills
  • To increase teachers knowledge of new material
  • To promote pupil use of the public library

2017 Shortlist

  • We're in the Wrong Book! - Richard Byrne
  • Poles Apart - Jeanne Willis Illustrated by Jarvis
  • Hoot Owl Sean Layton Illustrated by Jean Jullien - WINNER
  • The Knight who wouldn't Fight by Helen Docherty Illustrated by Thomas Docherty

Previous Winners

  • 2017 - Hoot Owl by Sean Taylor Illustrated by Jean Jullien
  • 2016 - Use your Imagination by Nicola O'Byrne
  • 2015 - Supertato by Sue Hendra
  • 2014 - Lion vs Rabbit by Alex Latimer
  • 2013 - Wolf Won't Bite by Emily Gravett
  • 2012 - Otto the Book Bear by Katie Cleminson
  • 2011 - This is My Book by Mick Inkpen
  • 2010 - Super Daisy and the Peril of Planet Pea by Kes Gray & Nick Sharratt
HPBA 2018