Roads and Transport

Improving access to railway stations in Hampshire

Station Travel Plans

Five railway plans have been adopted by the County Council so far. The station travel plan for Farnborough (main station) was adopted on 24 July 2012. The station travel plan for Fleet was adopted on 6 November 2012. The station travel plans for Aldershot, Andover and Basingstoke were all adopted on 2 April 2013.


Hampshire County Council is working with its partners to improve access to a number of railway stations in Hampshire by the use of sustainable forms of transport. Our partners in this work are South West Trains, Network Rail, District Councils and local bus operators.

With the help of funding from the Department for Transport Local Sustainable Transport Fund (LSTF), the County Council is producing a total of nine station travel plans for a number of stations across Hampshire.

Each plan contains an action plan, which is reviewed annually by the steering group. The steering group comprises representatives from each partner: the County Council, South West Trains, Network Rail, the relevant District Council and local bus operators.