You are hereHantsweb Home

Manor Farm and Country Park

Wartime themed activities

Staff Led – KS2

Are you currently studying WW2 at School? Would you like to experience what it was like being an evacuee? Look no further than Wartime Themed Activities at Manor Farm.

The Wartime Themed Activity programme offered by Manor Farm and Country Park provides an experience for children to explore what it was like to be an evacuee during the Second World War. The activity programme starts with a 20 minute introductory Billeting session with the option of looking at the following topics.  

Wartime Farming

Looks at how farmers had to cope during the war. This activity consist of learning about the process of milking and discovering what animals would have stayed on the farm during the war.

Evacuee School Lesson

Children will experience an evacuee school lesson, how they were disciplined and punished and what to expect in the event of an air raid.

Field to Table

This activity explores how crops were grown in fields and how they end up as food that we eat on our tables. Children will learn about crop production, how crops were harvested and the type of products different crops can produce. This activity will also explore how different types of grain can be used for animal feed, and not just for human consumption.

Wartime Living and Rationing

Looking at how farmers washed their clothes, preserved their foods, rationing and entertainment on a farm during wartime.

Our Wartime weeks will commence on the following dates:

  • Monday 25 November – Friday 29 November 2013
  • Monday 27 January – Friday 31 January 2014
  • Monday 17 March – Friday 21 March 2014
  • Monday 9 June – Friday 13 June 2014
  • Monday 8 September – Friday 12 September 2014
  • Monday 17 November – Friday 21 November 2014

Prices are £6 per child. There is free entry for teachers and adult helpers. There are limited places for these weeks so if you are interested in booking or finding out further information please contact us on 01489 772811.