Gosport Discovery Centre

Write a review about Gosport Discovery Centre

Write a review about our services or something you've seen or done at the Discovery Centre.

Tell us what you think, or if you disagree with other reviews write your own!

Whether you want to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit, or give us some tips on how we can improve it for next time, we want to hear what you think.

Please leave your name and email address. Your email address will not be published. We may contact you prior to publication, so please use a genuine email or your comments may not be published.

Reviews

25 reviews so far

*

31/07/2014 10:17am

Philip Allen

For the past year I have attended a number of events at the Centre and would like to record my admiration and appreciation for those responsible for the selection process. The quality of the productions have been 1st class and very enjoyable, offering excellent value for money and a wide variety of subjects. Thank you. I recommend this venue to all.

Gosport Discovery Centre replies

Thank you for your kind comments Philip. We do try to offer a varied programme of events to suit all tastes. If there is anything you would particularly like to see here, please let us know as suggestions are always welcome.

 

*

30/04/2014 11:48am

Valerie Henderson

The computer course has increased from £5 to £40 which is a 700% increase. St Vincent Computer course is free. Saying it's due to the cuts is an all encompassing excuse that all and sundry use.  

The Gosport Discovery Centre replies

Hampshire Library Service are able to offer subsidised courses through Business, Innovation and Skills Department funding allocated by Hampshire Futures. This academic year we supported nearly 200 learners through IT. based courses with the funding allocated before it was used. Now we are continuing the learning offer at a competitive price which covers the costs of running the courses. Staff in the Discovery Centre are able to advise customers of other local learning providers on request.

 

*

26/02/2014 08:58am

Lindsey Nottingham

Thank you to everyone at Gosport Discovery Centre for all their hard work in setting up and running a great selection of half term activities.

We attended the Jurassic Fantastic and the Winnie the Pooh day.

The Winnie the Pooh day had concurrent activities for different ages of children. The craft activity was really well prepared and there were plenty of friendly staff to help out. The older children went on the animation workshop which they really enjoyed and managed to concentrate for 3hours - £5 per head well spent.

The Jurassic Fantastic was hosted by knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff. The childrens' attention was captured with an interactive story about the geology of Hampshire.

Not forgetting the Book Worm cafe, great coffee and cakes, and friendly service.

We are so fortunate to have the Discovery Centre - keep up the good work.

 

*

11/02/2014 10:01am

Jack Cropley

Hi, i understand that this is part community centre, but some of us do need to work here sometimes and it's fairly hard to with so much noise. Is there no way you can open up meeting rooms for free when not being used or is there a plan for a quieter section/room? My university is takes a lot longer to travel to and i'd have to pay to get there so i prefer to work here, i think it would be good for a lot of people if there was an area with at least a bit less noise.

Gosport Discovery Centre replies

The open plan nature of the building means that there are times when noise levels rise. However, it is always quieter in the evenings and the Local & Naval Studies Centre is a quieter area in which to work.

 

*

12/11/2013 01:55pm

Amelia Etoile

Its not a silent place anymore, the library. You cant hear pages turning or notes being scribbled. There is no shushing by bespectacled librarian dressed in beige corduroy. You do not have to creep around imposing towers of dusty tomes, nervous of each creak in the floor boards. It balks at the stereotype. What was once seen (by some) as a graveyard for books, now bursts with life.

It hums giggles and chatters unapologetically. It invites you into its light and airy embrace, letting you know you are somewhere safe, somewhere comforting.

The heart-warming whispers of toddlers singing nursery rhymes, the hushed babble of stories told at the scrabble board, the craft table or in the coffee shop come together to reverberate around the building, like the pulse of the community. For some it is a study, for some a meeting place, others find their first adventures here, their first love. Some expand their knowledge, their circle of friends, their horizons even their souls here.

Its a place where magic thrives and our inner child can run free, hand in hand with our imagination. It is escape, it is solace, it is priceless.

 

*

30/10/2013 03:25pm

Filip Dabrowski

I must say that Gosport Discovery Centre is by far one of best libraries / community centers I have ever visited. Amazing amount of space, fast broadband, nice atmosphere ;-) I am using theyr services on daily basis! Bravo!

 

*

14/10/2013 02:18pm

Angela Lethern-Palmer

Thank you to the member of library staff who made my book collection so easy today. I need to use 2 sticks to walk at times which makes handling books difficult. The member of staff took the book and put it through the machines for me. This was very much appreciated.

 

*

24/10/2013 08:34am

Cameron Gordon

me and my friend to make a stool to sell books and games to raise more money for new computers faster and up to date because the computers and the windows thats on the computers are old and slow i you should update

Gosport Discovery Centre replies

A new computer system is being installed at Gosport Discovery Centre at the end of November 2013. The new system will be faster and have a more up to date version of Windows and various other programmes including Publisher.

 

*

14/10/2013 02:09pm

cameron Gordon

When is facebook 13 in the gosport discovery center

Gosport Discovery Centre replies

Thirteen year olds will be able to access Facebook when the updated public computer site, Netloan, is installed. This system is currently being tested at 2 library sites. If all is satisfactory and there are no problems during the tests , it will be installed at Hampshire County Council libraries during November and December. Notifications will be displayed in the Discovery Centre as soon as we have a date for the Netloan installation.

 

*

04/09/2013 04:10pm

cameron gordon

im getting annoyed because they banneded happy wheels and thats the only game i really play i think the age should be 13 or over

Gosport Discovery Centre replies

Thank you for your recent review. If you search for 'happy wheels game', many of the sites are blocked by Hampshire County Council as they are categorised 'adult/mature content' or 'violent/racist/hate', so would not be available through Hampshire County Council's systems for anyone to access. That may be to do with other games that are on those sites, so it might just be that the particular site you were using has been blocked and you may be able to search for and find another one where you can play this game?

As a more general point, the new 'Go Online' system, which is being rolled out at the end of the year, will have 3 levels of filtering: child, teen and adult, so that 12-15 year olds are not blocked from accessing sites with social networking for which they are old enough to sign up. Quite a lot of games sites end up blocked because of the messaging/social networking facilities on them rather than because of any content within the games themselves.

 

Go to page: 1 2 3 

Review Ref. 323186

 

Write a review

 

Required fields are marked with a *

 
 
 
Get more out of libraries

Important information

  • Give the reasons you liked or didn't enjoy your visit.
  • Even if your review is negative, you should not use strong or non-family-friendly language.
  • We reserve the right to edit or withhold from publication any reviews which we consider inappropriate.
  • Please don't post multiple reviews.
  • Reviews can take up to 5 working days to be posted.
  • If you are under 16, please ask your parent/guardian before you submit a review.
  • You should not post reviews if you are associated with this venue.